IND vs AUS: Captain Rohit Sharma’s undefeated 46 helps India beat Australia to series 1-1 level


Team India skipper Rohit Sharma hit an unbeaten 46 runs in just 20 balls to help the hosts beat Australia in an 8-over per side game. The second T20I between India and Australia in Nagpur was delayed as the outfield was wet due to rain.

Despite losing overs in a game to be won, the Men in Blue remained optimistic as they tied the series 1-1, and now all attention is turned to Hyderabad, where the series decider will be played on September 25.

READ| IND vs AUS: Rohit Sharma overtakes Martin Guptill to become leading six batter in T20I history

The Indian skipper hit four sixes and as many fours as he single-handedly helped India chase a 91 goal with four balls left in a match that was reduced to eight-overs-a-side due to a wet outfield.

See also  Bears Week 2 Exaggerated Reactions: Is Justin Fields Wasting in Chicago?

READ| 6.4: Dinesh Karthik finishes in style, hits big and wins 2nd T20I for Team India; watch video

Previously, Matthew Wade hit an unbeaten 20-ball 43 to blast Australia to 90 for five.

Wade hit four boundaries and three towering sixes – all caps in the final over Harshal Patel (0/32) – while skipper Aaron Finch hit 31 out of 15 after Rohit invited Australia to bat in a match that was delayed by two-and-a-half. -Half hours.

Rohit chased the target and made his intent clear when he hit a six-strike spree, unleashing three monstrous hits on Josh Hazlewood in the opening to jump-start India’s chase.

READ| “No 19th over no Bhuvi”: Fans react as Team India picks seven batters for rain-shortened T20 game against Australia

See also  Should Virat Kohli open the innings in T20Is? This is what skipper Rohit Sharma has to say

The India opener then deposited the slower delivery of Pat Cummins (1/23 in 2 overs) in the stands before Adam Zampa (3/16 in 2 overs) was lifted over the long distance for another maximum.

But the spinner came back to disrupt the stumps of KL Rahul (10), who was looking for a slog sweep.

Virat Kohli (11) then grabbed a border from Daniel Sams, before hitting one over Zampa’s head for another four.

READ| IND vs AUS: Rohit Sharma overtakes Martin Guptill to become leading six batter in T20I history

However, the spinner won the battle of wits as his faster delivery defeated the Indian and drove the stumps out.

Zampa dealt a double blow when he caught Suryakumar Yadav (0) in the next ball and India dropped to 55 for 3 in 4.3 overs.

See also  Ajinkya Rahane tells Yashasvi Jaiswal to leave field due to sledding in Duleep Trophy final, watch video

Unfazed by the fall of wickets, Rohit continued to go strong as he broke one over cover and then walked a short penalty when Sean Abbott gave up 11 runs.

READ| IND vs AUS: Jasprit Bumrah Castles Aaron Finch with yorker, Australian skipper applauds pacer

Hardik Pandya scored a four off Cummins, but he couldn’t stay long as he skipped a hole to Finch in the seventh.

Designated finisher Dinesh Karthik then played his part to perfection, finishing off the remaining runs with a six and a four on Sams.

With inputs from PTI



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here