New Zealand announce roster for upcoming ICC T20I Cricket World Cup, including Ferguson, Bracewell and Allen


New Zealand has made three changes to its roster for the ICC T20 World Cup in Australia next month from the side that played last year’s World Cup final in the UAE, replacing Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell and Finn Allen by Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle and Tim Seifert.

READ: IND vs AUS 1st T20I live streaming: When and where to watch India vs Australia 1st T20I match

Two players who recently turned down the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) central contract – Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham – are also finding a place in the squad and so is Finn Allen, who is one of the newest players to sign a central contract .

New Zealand has a strong pace attack consisting of Boult, Ferguson, Tim Southee and Adam Milne. Ish Sodhi will lead the spin attack and is supported by Bracewell and Mitchell Santner.

See also  Truss Meets World Leaders Ahead of Queen's Funeral

Bracewell made his New Zealand debut in 2022, but has quickly become an important cog in the wheel. He put in a string of good performances with the bat and was rewarded with a place in the squad for the big event.

Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Santner, Bracewell and Neesham give the squad the balance with their ability to contribute with both the bat and the ball.

Devon Conway has been named as the frontline wicketkeeper after wearing the gloves in the UAE last year and the recent series against the West Indies.

Of those who played in the World Cup roster last year, Jamieson was not considered as he continues his rehabilitation from a back injury, while Todd Astle and Tim Seifert have missed out on the roster.

New Zealand will compete in the T20 Tri Series with Pakistan and Bangladesh for the first time, starting in Christchurch on October 7. With seven games spread over eight days at Hagley Oval, the Tri-Series will offer fans their last chance to see the team before they head off to Australia on October 15.

See also  British Open: tearful Tiger Woods likely to miss St Andrews farewell | Golf news

READ: IND vs AUS 1st T20I: IAS Bindra stadium pitch, weather forecast for India-Australia 1st T20I match

“It’s always a special moment to announce a World Cup squad and I want to congratulate the 15 selected players,” said New Zealand coach Gary Stead.

“It’s especially exciting for Finn and Michael getting ready for their first ICC events as Martin Guptill prepares for his seventh T20 World Cup – which in itself is an incredible achievement. It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event where we played very good cricket but didn’t quite finish at the end.

See also  Motorsport Podcast: Singapore F1 Grand Prix Review

“With the core of that squad retained, along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with a lot of optimism.”

Stead said the Tri Series should provide high-quality pre-preparation for the World Cup.

“Along with the all-important game time, those matches will be a great opportunity to fine-tune our combinations and game plans before leaving for Australia.”

New Zealand will open their T20 World Cup campaign against Australia at the SCG on October 22, before facing Afghanistan (MCG), England (Gabba) and two qualifiers in the SCG and Adelaide Oval respectively.

PlowKane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here