Singapore to restrict travel from 7 African countries as new variant of COVID-19 emerges


SINGAPORE: Singapore to restrict entry of travelers with recent travel history to seven African countries after reporting that a potentially more contagious variant of COVID-19 could circulate there, the Ministry of Health (MOH) said on Friday (November 26th) .

Starting at 11:59 p.m. on Saturdays, all long-term pass holders and short-term visitors with a travel history within the past 14 days to Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe will not be allowed to enter Singapore or transit here. .

See also  Germany: Hendrik Wüst at the head of the most populous state | TNZT | 27.10.2021

The restrictions also apply to those who have obtained prior permission to enter Singapore.

Singapore citizens and permanent residents returning from these countries will be required to provide 10 days notice of stay in a dedicated establishment.

“There have been recent reports of a potentially more contagious variant of the COVID-19 virus, B.1.1.529, which could be circulating in Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe, ”the health ministry said. .

See also  Singapore reports 2,553 new COVID-19 cases and 17 more deaths

“Scientists around the world are learning even more about the new variant of the virus, for example whether it is more transmissible than the Delta variant, whether it is more likely to lead to serious illness and the effectiveness of existing vaccines against it. this new variant. “

Singapore currently has no case of this variant, the ministry added.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here